Driving Financial Innovation

The «Center for Innovative Finance» (CIF) of the University of Basel is dedicated to researching practical issues in the fields of Fintech, Digital Banking and Innovative Finance. Our research focuses on the scientific analysis and practical implementation of blockchain projects, venturing and innovative financial solutions.

With this research focus, the CIF is unique in Switzerland and makes a decisive contribution to the research and application of future-oriented technologies - also in the context of societal consequences. In pursuing these objectives, great importance is attached to comprehensive, interdisciplinary analysis.

The Faculty’s Chairs of Economic Theory (Prof. Aleksander Berentsen), Finance (Prof. Heinz Zimmermann) and Financial Management (Prof. Pascal Gantenbein) are responsible for the scientific direction of the CIF. Prof. Dr. Fabian Schär is its Managing Director. In addition, the CIF is supported by an external advisory board.

Blockchain / DLT                    

Venturing                                

Quantitative Finance and Innovation

Driving Financial Innovation

Die Forschungsstelle «Center for Innovative Finance» (CIF) der Universität Basel widmet sich der Erforschung von praxisrelevanten Fragestellungen in den Bereichen Fintech, Digital Banking und Innovative Finance. Der Fokus unserer Forschung liegt auf der wissenschaftlichen Analyse und der praktischen Umsetzung von Blockchain-Projekten, der Innovationsfinanzierungen und innovativen Finanzlösungen.

Mit dieser Fragestellung ist das CIF bisher einzigartig in der Schweiz und leistet einen entscheidenden Beitrag in der Erforschung und der Anwendung zukunftsgerichteter Technologien - dies auch im Kontext  gesellschaftlicher Auswirkungen. Dabei wird grosser Wert auf eine ganzheitliche und interdisziplinäre Analyse gelegt.

Die Professuren Wirtschaftstheorie (Prof. Aleksander Berentsen), Finanzmarkttheorie (Prof. Heinz Zimmermann) und Finanzmanagement (Prof. Pascal Gantenbein) sind verantwortlich für die wissenschaftliche Leitung des CIF. Prof. Dr. Fabian Schär ist der Geschäftsleiter. Zusätzlich wird das CIF durch ein externes Advisory Board unterstützt.

Blockchain / DLT                    

Venturing                                

Quantitative Finance and Innovation